Banana French Toast

Food is therapy.

After having a minor anxiety attack because I bought black wall shelves instead of white (I can’t handle apartment decorating!), I stopped popping every knuckle in my body and hunkered down to start making something for breakfast.

There’s this place back home called Boots & Kimos that makes the most massive pancakes with the sweetest coconut syrup chock full of macadamia nuts.

Ridiculous.  Plastic forks can’t handle it.  My conscience can’t handle it.

Add to that batter a handful of mashed bananas and your heart attack just turned into a potassium-filled heart attack.

Half a decade or so ago, my dad taught me how to make his “famous” banana crepes, which was really just milked-down Bisquick batter with a banana or two, fried thin and rolled into a tight sleeping bag.  Sometimes we put strawberry jam in it.

Simply delicious.

I gave it a minor upgrade because I had an entire braided challah loaf from CFB (seriously, whenever I go there I just take ANYTHING.  Even though I. . .never eat challah).

Maybe I’ll try my hand at bread pudding later this week.

You know how the usual rotten-banana default baked good is banana bread?  Well!  I pulled a fast one and threw it into the french toast batter.  Booyah.

My new apartment came with a five-burner stove and a cast iron skillet attachment.  The dream I didn’t even know I had came true.

In honor of the original crepe maker, I ate these with blueberry jam instead of syrup.

Banana French Toast.

1/4 cup milk
1 tablespoon whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 egg
1 super mashed, blackened banana
3 slices of thick challah bread (or any bread)

Smoosh the banana to a pulp (try your best to get the bigger chunks because otherwise it won’t stick to the bread).  Add all other ingredients except the bread, mix until well incorporated.  Place all three slices of bread into the batter so it really soaks to the core.

Set your skillet to medium heat and lather with butter.  Cook the challah until lightly toasted on both sides.  Coat with powdered sugar if you’re in the mood, and serve with grade B maple syrup if you’re in the mood.

Serves one.  All mine.

5 thoughts on “Banana French Toast

  1. Pingback: Bread Pudding | Eating and Taking Pictures

  2. Pingback: Rosemary Ice Cream | The Veggielogues

Tell me what you think!

