Strawberry Basil Martini

Growing up, I always had phases.  Not just the normal phases that go along with getting older, like weaning, teething, getting a sports bra because you really don’t have any boobies at all, cooties, shaving, not shaving, bell bottoms to skinny jeans, and of course John Mayer (whoever says they didn’t have a John Mayer phase is a liar and a thief).

I mean handwriting phases.  I mean sew-all-of-my-clothes phases.  Short hair phases.  You know, life-defining phases that only I can control (John Mayer was irresistible!).

Now let me tell you about alcohol and I.

It started with Rum.  Then a downward spiral into the Vodka Dark Ages, thanks to my freshman year of college.  Then came the Gin Enlightenment.  And after watching four seasons of Mad Men in the span of maybe two weeks, I drank nothing but an Old Fashioned (Scotch) for a good six months.

Friends, I have to say that I’ve seen the light again.

Ever notice that my food color pallet still screams for summer?

I’m serious about muddling.  The mortar and pestle might be over-the-top, but it produces the thickest strawberry-basil syrup and thus delicious beverage.

Drink out of mason jars.  It’s good for you.

Strawberry Basil Martini.

5 ripe strawberries, chopped
10 fresh basil leaves, chopped
1 teaspoon fresh lime juice
1oz simple syrup (equal parts sugar and water)
3oz Gin

Muddle the basil and strawberry with the simple syrup either with a mortar and pestle or just with the back of an ice cream scoop in a cocktail shaker.

Add all other ingredients and shake with ice.

Pour into a mason jar.

Drink merrily.

4 thoughts on “Strawberry Basil Martini

  1. Your dad gave me your link (I’m a veggie, too! I also teach at P!) This sounds so very yummy! I can’t wait to give it (and a bunch of your other recipes) a try!

  2. We need to get you a serious mortar and pestle. That thing is only good for dollops of things. Also, Vodka dark ages? We should talk about the venerable Moscow Mule – with home made ginger beer. It’s 9am but that sounds tasty!

Tell me what you think!

