Caramelized Brussels Sprouts

Though I can’t blame Sesame Street for turning the Cookie Monster into the Veggie Monster (okay, maybe I can be a little angry because cookies are fantastic and if there was a jar labeled “Cookies” instead of “Oats” on my kitchen counter I would eat cookies and only cookies all day), I kind of wish that my parents had whacked me every time I whined about eating my vegetables.  Maybe they did and I’ve repressed it?

The vegetables that I never ate as a child, such as cauliflower, kale, beets, chard oh my god chard, and brussels sprouts, are some of the most fantasmical delights my mouth has ever known in my young adulthood.

I didn’t even know what brussels sprouts were until I’d seen this Swedish Chef episode, and even then I had no clue what they looked like:

 

I know what brussels sprouts are now.  And how to cook them.  Hint: butter.

And don’t worry about the broccoli.  I love it now.  But peas…I still kind of hate.  How do you even eat peas?  They’re just a waste of time and mouth space.

Oh yeah, and baby corn.  Gross.  And canned. At least brussels sprouts are like baby cabbages.  But I hate cabbage.  Even with butter.

Caramelized Brussels Sprouts.

10 or so brussels sprouts, halved
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon fennel seeds
1 teaspoon unsalted butter
1/2 teaspoon honey

Heat the butter and fennel on a skillet until the seeds just start to sizzle.  Add the brussels sprouts and salt and sauté until just beginning to brown.  Squirt the honey and cook until deep brown.

Serves 1-2 Veggie Monsters.

2 thoughts on “Caramelized Brussels Sprouts

Tell me what you think!

