Spicy Kale Chips

California.  Northern California.  It’s great, did you know that?  There are big trees and elk and the Pacific and temperate sweater weather.  And cousins and brothers and parents and a baby nephew that makes me want to die.

2011 was also pretty great.  I lived in three different places.  Biked 10 miles a day.  Counseled wild teenagers.  Got 11 stitches.

And I’m not one for resolutions, but I have a feeling this year’s going to be full of travels, intrigue, changes, and updates.  I’m staring intently at my “Ideal Life” list with a pen quivering in anticipation to start crossing off some goals.

Here’s to 2012!

Spicy Kale Chips.

Bunch of kale leaves, stems removed and coarsely ripped (You can use any kind of kale.  I used curly, which makes for lots of crumbs, but most people use lacinato, or “dinosaur” kale.)
pinch of salt and pepper
sprinkle of red chili flakes
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Preheat the oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a large bowl, toss together all of the ingredients until all of the kale leaves are coated with oil.  Evenly distribute on a baking sheet and bake for about 20 minutes, until the leaves are crisp like a chip.

Share with your family of 6+1.

4 thoughts on “Spicy Kale Chips

  1. Hi Mimi! I made these chips, but don’t like spicy – I know … I’m weak … I’ll admit it – so I put yellow mustard on instead b/c that’s the tastiest and only thing in my fridge that had a chance of going with kale. I don’t think the rice vinegar or Pietro’s salad dressing would have done it. But it turned out delicious! I always see kale chips at the open markets and they’re SO expensive – like that $10 chocolate bar we saw at the cheese place … but now I can just make them myself thanks to your encouragement 🙂 Keep blogging!

    And I agree, Nor Cal is the great! – ttyl from Silicon Valley! -Sara Y.

  2. Pingback: Peanut Butter Banana Bread | The Veggielogues

  3. There’s a company that sells gross looking versions of these things in the Whole Foods Store now. They’re coated with all sorts of things like fake vegan cheese and seeds that make them look like spore astroids because I know what spore asteroids look like in real life.

Tell me what you think!

