Baked Brie with Fig Preserves

My parents used to take my brothers and I to our church friend’s house for the Superbowl every year. I would awkwardly talk with the cool teenagers and laugh at the commercials, waiting for the glitzy half-time show. There would be food. So much food. So much Mountain Dew.

I so did the Dew.

Then Tom Brady happened. I was 13, didn’t even bother counting the zits on my face, my best friends had braces and I was six inches shorter and 30 pounds heavier. We ate so many mini cheesecakes. But Tom Brady was a dream boat.

And they won that Superbowl XXXVIII against the Carolina Panthers. I saw Janet Jackson’s boob. Well. I didn’t really know what I saw.

Then they played the New York Giants. I was a sophomore in college. They lost. I kind of cried. I bought ice cream.

Today is redemption day. I baked some brie. I’m all grown up.

Go Pats.

Also, Jericho, Vermont is kind of beautiful. Really beautiful. A little cold.

Brie rinds are delicious. Don’t hate on the rinds.

You can use any sort of preserve your little Patriot-fan heart desires. I originally wanted to use chutney, but the fig preserves were on super sale. And I love figs.

I kind of messed up and overstuffed these little guys. They oozed for days and I had to clean the pan for years. But the brie was baked onto the pan and I totally scraped off the toasty bits and ate them. Vermont makes me want to eat cheese forever.

Baked Brie with Fig Preserves

from Joy the Baker

2 sheets of puff pastry, thawed
1/2 wheel of brie cheese
jar of fig preserves (or chutney or raspberry or peach or apricot or the tears of a Giants fan)
1 egg, whisked, for wash

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

Cut the puff pastry to about 3×3 inch squares, or however small/big you want. Slice a bit of brie and place on one sheet. Spoon some preserves onto the cheese. Place another pastry square on top and pinch with fork prongs. It’ll look like a ravioli square.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and spread the squares about Β 1/2 inch apart and brush with egg wash.

Bake for about 15 minutes, or until golden brown.

Makes 24 bites.

GO PATS.

Tell me what you think!

