Polenta Fries

Maybe once a year I’m asked this goofy question: which historical era do you wish you were a part of?

It’s an ice breaker, I guess.

And I’m thinking, duh, the Roaring 20s because, hello, flapper dresses and, oh crap, I actually have hips so I’d look horrible in them.

Then I think, oh man how about the Elizabethan era. Corsets. Indulgences. Court jesters. But then I remember that the feudal system was junk for just about everyone else. People were super dirty. Even royalty. They probably bathed in champagne. Sticky.

Once I stop defining history by its fashion trends, it hits me. What if I could’ve met Queen Elizabeth? Albert Einstein? Kennedy?

What if, for just an afternoon, I could talk to my grandmother when she was 23? Get to know my namesake I’ve never met? I wonder if she laughed at fart jokes as much as I do. Maybe she cracked her knuckles when she was nervous. She probably liked her coffee with cream and sugar.

She was a supreme lady from what I hear.

I hope the Kentucky woman in her likes deep fried grits.

I ate these at a restaurant this weekend and got jealous.

I get jealous of restaurants that make better food than me.

The first time I ate grits was at brunch with dear friends after a night of pints of ice cream and 4am giggling.

Don’t let their French fry exterior fool you. They taste nothing like the stuff.

Polenta Fries

1 cup organic yellowcorn grits
3 cups water
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/4 cup oil (I used olive oil. Don’t use extra virgin. But you can use vegetable.)

In a small pot, bring 3 cups of water and salt to a boil. Add the grits and stir frequently for about 15 minutes, or until a wooden spoon stands up in the mush by itself. Add the parmesan and mix until melted. Lightly grease a 9×9 baking pan and evenly pour the grits, being sure to evenly distribute it all over the pan.

Cover with a plastic wrap and let cool in the fridge for at least 2 hours.ย Once solid, plop the polenta onto a cutting board and slice into thin strips.

In a large frying pan, heat the oil at medium-high heat. Add the polenta one strip at a time and fry each side until golden brown.

Makes 30 or so big fat fries.

2 thoughts on “Polenta Fries

  1. Suppose your Dad told you….Mom liked her coffee black…..want to try those fries….will wait to taste them with Mimi Rose as cook!

Tell me what you think!

