Sweet Tea Bourbon

There’s a problem with today’s fashion trends.

They don’t cater to people with goofy bodies. Has this always been a thing? Because I can’t count how many times I’ve taken a spectacularly lacy dress or billowing shirt and gasped in horror at the Frumpy McFrumpster in the mirror. What’s with cinched waistlines? Why are skirts so short?

And how about the platform heels? Let me tell you something, shoe designers. Ladies who wear a size 10 1/2 shoe are not petit. They have to be at least 5’9″ and goodness knows are awkward enough trying to balance on their own two feet, let alone with an extra 5 inches.

I bump into things. All the time.

So as I sigh for the umpteenth time after realizing, yet again, that straight-lined suits simply don’t work on curves, it hits me: I am my own fashionista. I will forever wear my $2 old man cardigan. I will never stop believing that one day, twelve patterns at once is a good idea. That barefoot will be the new boot.

And that whiskey will always be in season.

Sweet Tea Bourbon.

1/4 cup brewed black tea (1 tablespoon loose leaf per 5 cups hot water or 2 bags per 5 cups)
4 ounces Bourbon
1 teaspoon raw sugar or honey
a few sprigs of mint
fresh lemon juice, to taste

While the tea is still hot, add the sugar and stir until dissolved. Tear up a few mint leaves and add to infuse while the liquid cools. Once warm to the touch, measure 1/4 cup tea and pour inside two cocktail glasses or mason jars. Add freshly squeezed lemon juice and ice before stirring vigorously.

Garnish with fresh mint leaves.

Makes two well-deserved drinks.

Tell me what you think!

