Hibiscus Lemonade with Blueberry Ice

Listen, summer.

Remember the time I said, “Dude, I’m so ready for you?”

You kind of called my bluff.

Well, yeah, duh, I’ve had swimsuits at the front of my dresser since February and dresses at the ready since the sun first started peaking out. But I haven’t gotten a grill yet. I don’t have skewers or charcoal. I don’t have glittered sandals, and my sunscreen stock is pretty low.

Memorial Day is all up in my face with the smell of barbecues and sound of splashing pools.

And lawnmowers. So many lawnmowers.

But look, summer. I’ve always been a procrastinator, so just hold your horses until I cram in a much-needed Hibachi into my life, okay? There’ll be cross-hatched vegetables everywhere.

This morning started with some blueberry ice. The ingredients are in the name. Do it with strawberries, blackberries, whatever-erries, and use them to flavor water or any alcoholic beverage of your choice. Drink responsibly.

Lemonade starts with lemons.

Hibiscus lemonade starts with lemons and dried hibiscus leaves. You can get these at Turkish markets or any natural foods store.

Maybe I should become a beekeeper and call it a day.

Seriously, mix this with rum or gin. Or vodka, if you’re into that kind of stuff. No drama.

Pink lemonade should always be made with hibiscus syrup. Who on earth was the guy (girl?) who invented pink lemonade and didn’t think about hibiscus? Missed a golden opportunity.

I spilled. Does burlap stain? Ugh, I hope not.

Hibiscus Lemonade with Blueberry Ice.

For the blueberry ice:

Throw in some blueberries into an ice tray. Cover with water. Freeze for at least six hours before using.

For the hibiscus lemonade:

2 cups water
1 tablespoon dried hibiscus
1/4 cup honey
1/2 cup sugar
1 cup fresh-squeezed lemon juice
4 cups water (adjust for taste)

Bring first 2 cups of water to a boil and pour into heat-resistant bowl with hibiscus leaves. Steep for about 6 minutes before straining. Add honey while the tea is still hot and mix well.

In a large bowl, pour in the sugar before adding another 4 cups of boiling water. Stir until the sugar is fully dissolved.

Add the lemonade to the sugar water and stir, adding more water to suit your taste buds.

Let lemonade and hibiscus tea cool in the fridge before adding to plain or blueberry ice.

Makes about 7 cups of lemonade.

2 thoughts on “Hibiscus Lemonade with Blueberry Ice

Tell me what you think!

