Foodie Penpal: Grilled Cheese Sandwich

I did a neat thing in June. I signed up for this cute little Foodie Penpal project by the lovely Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean. Over the course of a mere few months, Lindsay has managed to connect hundreds of food bloggers like myself in an awesome exchange program. This month, as a virgin participant, I got a sweet package from Sarah of Seattle, Washington, who sent me a box of local delights.

You can’t imagine my glee when the pudgy little brown box showed up on my doorstep (um, hello, who doesn’t love getting goodies in the mail?) and my squees of delight when I unearthed the sweet, bubble-wrapped treats.

Duh, I popped all of the bubble wrap. What do you take me for, an adult?

In her letter, Sarah suggested to slather some of the pickled peppers on a grilled cheese sandwich – and slather them I did. I haven’t yet dived into the salted caramel because, like a doofus, I forgot to get a vat of vanilla ice cream during this past week’s grocery shop.

So, Sarah, in honor of your perfect idea, I made a couple of grilled cheese sandwiches with the help of Mama Lil.

These are the makings of a spectacular summertime sandwich. Vine-ripened tomatoes, spinach, whole wheat bread and Vermont cheddar cheese. Of course, the sandwich packs some extra flavor punch thanks to Sarah’s super gift.

I’m a professional sandwich stuffer. Do not attempt unless trained by a professional.

I added a handful of sautéed onions to make the sandwich sing.

Word to the wise: get some pickled goodies to enhance any mundane morsel, from paninis and grilled cheese to salads and stir-fries.

Spice it up.

Tell me what you think!

